Reuters, etc

So, I know, it’s been a while.  I need to write more often, etc.  I was busy doing other things that were (mostly) not related to writing or cooking or crafting, so I didn’t have much to write about here.  Since this was meant as a way to document my attempts to make a living as a writer, though, some reason developments have brought me back with some things to say.

First of all, there was a setback at the beginning of the week because Associated Content took away thousands of page views from their writers.  They claim they were “false views”.  They claim not to know when it started, yet still insist, they know the views were false.  They have not answered how they know the views were false, what criteria was used to determine this, nor have they explained how they could find these views, but not know the date they began.  Or why such a thing would be happening to ALL of us – one or two people, I could understand, maybe one of them rigged something or maybe inadvertantly sent their pages to a site that was rigged already, but all of us?  No.  Makes no sense.  All we are being told is, the views are gone and we aren’t getting them back, no matter how much our performance payments dropped as a result.  Personally, I lost over 4000 views on ONE article.  Not sure on the others, but I watched that one,  because it was about the passing of Dan Miller, the local tv anchor from where I grew up.  I cared not only because of the money, but I liked knowing so many people cared about him.  According to AC, it was 4000 less than the daily totals indicated and so I’m doubly upset.

I was already unhappy with AC because I got more targeted calls, or rather, got emails saying I had more targeted calls, but I was never able to claim them.  I sent message after message trying to get a response as to what was going on (they all had short deadlines) and finally they sent me a “testing” call via the queuing system (NOT email so it really taught them nothing) that I was able to claim, but it was an irritating situation.  Their email system hasn’t been sending out notices on all the published articles, either.  I didn’t even get one when one of my articles was declined.

This leads me to the last development.  I got a $15 partner call from Reuters!  (Well, actually, I claimed 3 VERY similar calls and it took me 3 times to actually get the thing accepted.)  Sounds awesome, right?  My name on a national news organization website?  Yeah, not so much when they changed every sentence in the article before publication.  If I am exagerrating, it is by 3 sentences or less.  It’s as though they slapped my name on a story someone else wrote from my notes – which, really, is essentially what they did do.  I knew AC was “reworking” one paragraph because they checked with me as to whether it was accurate or not.  So I expected a few changes.  I did not expect the whole thing would be different.  I was totally excited until I saw it.  Deflated doesn’t even begin to describe my mood once I’d read it.

So, long story longer, I am now making more money writing, but I’m much less happy than I was about it….

On the other hand

I found a story I started a couple years ago that I’ve been wanting to get back into writing and it is as good as I remember it being.  That’s not arrogance you’re reading, that’s relief.  Sometimes, they aren’t.  Sometimes when I put them down for a while and go back, they are dreadful and I don’t pick them up again.  Not this time.  It’s good, good enough that I am enjoying reading it as I type it up.  That’s always a good indicator – coz if I don’t want to read it, neither will anyone else!

So it isn’t all bad.  I just have to pursue other avenues, focus more on  G2BG, and get back into trying to sell some fiction.

[UPDATE: 6/8/09- now it appears AC stopped posting my new articles here some time ago…over a month, in fact. That explains a lot]

Leave a Reply

