Gah, I don’t feel like I got anything done today, even though I know that’s not true.  I mean, I helped my mom build a bookcase, for heaven’s sake!  Of course, it’s no longer a bookcase, but that’s hardly the issue at hand, is it?  We built it.  The fact that the people at the local Lowest Homer Improv can’t cut their boards straight and the screws we were given were the wrong length, those things do not take away from the fact that a bookshelf unit was created, however briefly.  And tomorrow, when there are properly measured screws to be had, we will create a bookshelving unit again.

Being nauseated, as I mentioned in my previous entry, took up about half the day.  I got rid of it and it came back with a vengeance and I finally ended up curing it by having a Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Pineapple Colada – and that seems to have done the trick.  It was rough.  I won’t go into more detail as it might trigger it again.

I’m working on two crochet swaps at the moment.  One of them is almost done, I just need to make sure it’s dry and properly felted and it can go in the mail.  It’s a toadstool and the way the yarn turned out post-felting is gorgeous.  It’s all dark with brightly-colored spots and it really looks like bumps on a mushroom.  So cool.  Making a beret, too, with the same yarn for the other swap.  It’s about half done crochet-wise, then there is felting to do.  I’m excited to see how it turns out. 

 As lemented by my oh-so-insightful Ducky, Why do I never make such cool things for myself or my etsy store?!  No, I have to have “an assignment” these days.  Oh, well.  I’m still creating things, so that bit of inspiration hasn’t gone and I can’t complain about that!  I’m happy just to be creating again. 

I signed up for the hand-drawn group on Swap-bot, since I was getting more and more disappointed by the things I was getting early on…and I am SO glad I did!  I got the most adorable skunk ATC in the mail today!  Also got a creepy anti-valentine which I really like.  Wasn’t from that group, but I think the host of both swaps was the same chick.  I’ve gotten about a dozen things so far.  Some of them, like the skunk, make me really happy I decided to swap.  A few others (like the trapezoid I mentioned in an earlier post), make me think “Why bother?”  Mostly, my reaction has been decidedly “Meh” with no real reaction one way or the other.  I’m not sure whether that’s more my state of mind or the stuff itself.  I know I’ve gotten at least 5 that I think make it worth putting up with the boring or down right bad ones. 

I guess the “Meh” is because I don’t feel like the people who sent them were actually inspired.  And that is what I want.  I want to swap with people who are as inspired as I am when they make their items.  I don’t want assembly-line cards – I can buy those at Hallmark.  Give me something that you’re sad to give away!  That’s what it’s been like for me.  I’ve made ATCs that I LOVED – and had no desire to send once I was done – and I’d like to get things in return that make up for that, you know?  As in, “I gave my little artistic babies away, but someone else has given me their babies to watch over instead, so it’s alright.”  And I have felt that way, but not as often as I was hoping to.

I’ve got 4 articles to write in the next 4 days.  And ideas for a few more.  So writing is going ok.  I tried looking up children’s book publishers and bad things happened.  Not least of which was coming to the so-called religious publisher that charges a $50 fee to even review a partial manuscript.

Are you effing kidding me?!

Sadly, it appears that they were not.  It angers me they have the nerve to be extremely self-righteous and pretend they have anything to do with God.  Sorry, but God doesn’t care about the contents of my bank account.  You might know that if you’d bother to read the books you publish, you self-serving hypocrites. /rant

I’ve just remembered I had a cooking story I was going to share…and I have no idea what it might have been…shoot.

Leave a Reply

