Need a Little Magic in Your Life?

How about a Wizarding Kit

Sis and I were pretty proud of these, but sadly, if the CPSIA remains unchanged, many handmade toys will no longer be available, including the kits.  I suppose we could market them to young adults, and that’s ok, but we made these because they were something we’d have loved as children and it’s sad they might not be allowed as toys anymore.  I doubt many other handmade toy suppliers will be able to afford the thousands of dollars those tests will cost, either.

4 Responses

  1. These are beautiful!
    I’d have loved to have seen the bits inside the box laid out somewhere though, but the chest itself is lovely 🙂

    I’m really gutted about the CPSIA thing.

    When will you know about the outcome? I’ve missed the deadline to comment on it now 😦 I think you can still sell to the UK… but as Etsy is an American site, I wonder if that will effect every toy sold through them? I hope people just change the tags to ‘ornament’ and then continue selling them anyway, letting parents choose what they are buying things for!

    Good luck.

    • CPSIA has put off ruling for a year, so handmade toys are safe for another year at least! We laid out the bits previously, but this time decided to be a bit more mysterious. We may change it again. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Yay! Thats a relief.

    It does have an air of mystery, so that makes sense.

  3. Hi! I’m Cally, one of your swap partners from the blog swap at swap bot…

    Wow, what an awesome idea 😀
    I love Etsy. I love finding fun little things like your kit there – thank you for the link. I wish I had spare cash right now because that seems like something I would LOVE to put in my little arty & spiritual nook in my room X)
    Beautiful details…runes just *look* so magical don’t they?
    Awesome work. I’m going to look at more of your Etsy stuff now xox

Leave a Reply

