Introduction to Eloah: Part 1

This is hardly my first blog, but it’s the first one that I’ve intended for mass consumption.  My goal is to be making a living as a writer within the next month and I am almost at that goal, but far enough away from it that I’m nervous, too.

I’ve been writing as long as I can remember.  It really became clear to me, though, that I was “a writer” when I was 12 or 13.  I saw something on the side of the road and was inspired to write a poem about it.  Soon thereafter I encountered my first and only really inspiring teacher, a creative writing guru named Sally Walker.  That was 20 years ago, but that desire to have my work seen, published, read…that has only gotten stronger.

In addition to writing, I have a multitude of hobbies, such as knitting, crochet, spinning, sewing, cooking and various other handmade crafts.  If I could, I would live on a self-sufficient farm with cable internet, electricity and running water, but probably no tv.  My sister and I would raise goats and sheep and bees and chickens and perhaps a cow or two, not to mention vegetables and fruits and grains and herbs.  We could make food and clothes from their output – without harming any of them (except the eggs, but let’s not go there just now).  I could do chores in the morning and write in the afternoons and cook in the evenings.  It’s a wonderful dream…

Leave a Reply

